Doubts keep coming back

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Aug 13 - 6AM
Empath_NL
Empath_NL's picture

Doubts keep coming back

Hello everyone,

First I would like to say that I'm living in the Netherlands and I'm Dutch, so please don't mind the grammatical errors.

I'm a 25 old year student, and been involved with a guy who I think is a narcissist from January this year It was my first relationship.( I am also a guy, but had some trouble coming out because of my family.) But I keep doubting my conclusion and I would like you to think along with me. It is going to be long and I hope someone will read it and help me with it.

I am nice, idealistic, believe that we would have to make the world a better place for everyone.
He on the other hand could be really selfish and rude sometimes about other people. But presented himself as the victim to me all the time. He was bullied, his mom was a alcoholic who beat him, his ex was terrible and jealous. And yes, victims are my weak spot, so I really fell for it.

The first red flags where this remarks of him: "Do you know you made a terrible decision by choosing me? I can be really selfish." and "You are going to hear weird stuff about me, but please don't leave me, ok?" Out of the blue.

Then I discoverd some other flaws
-Talks about himself all the time, becomes disinterested when I say something about my day
-In the gym all the day, keeps sending pictures of his muscles
-Keeps fishing for compliments in a subtle way
-A lot of subtle bragging. He kept telling me that many people saw a Fire in his eyes. That he is like a God. That he has special genes (while he said "I don't understand why they see that in me, I must be very special right?) He told me that important people always associate with him.
-Unbelievable future visions, he's going to be rich, own a gigantic house, be a perfect father ("I want to take good care of you)

-Says he hates people and especially other gay guys(But not me I'm perfect, he is only interested in me)