fool_me_once's story

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Jun 16 - 8PM
fool_me_once
fool_me_once's picture

fool_me_once's story

(Sorry, this is unnecessarily long for such a short relationship. But, hey, I'm a writer. This is what I do.)

At 31, I had everything I wanted: I was very successful in a creative job in a major city, a condo I purchased with my own money (okay, okay, a *little* help from mom and dad), an adorable dog from the pound, and a fantastic network of loving friends and family. I have great self-esteem and acknowledge that I am physically attractive. So, how did I fall for a narc?

I've gone on over 50 first dates. Yeah, a lot. And I managed to fit them in between long relationships of 4 years, 3 years, etc. Except for the guys who became boyfriends, most of the dates were bad or just "meh." Last year, first date #50 was really great. Whipsmart, hilarious, and successful, he had renovated a house in my dream neighborhood and had two dogs that looked exactly like big versions of mine (not common). We started hanging out. Then another guy contacted me on the online dating site.

He didn't write very well. Since I work with words professionally, that was a turn-off. But something made me respond. I wasn't really sure about #50 yet, so I made first date #51. He was my physical ideal, full of energy, and amazingly talented. Sure, we didn't have a lot of things in common-- his family history was horrible while I can't tell you the last time anyone in my extended family has had even a tiff; he was hyper and whirlwind while I am reserved and guarded. Etc. But I kept seeing both guys, trying to decide. My head said, #50. I went to a restaurant to meet #51 to tell him that I had decided to see someone else. Within 10 minutes, my gut told me, "No. This is the guy. This is the guy you've been waiting for." (First lesson: head is smarter than gut.)