Two_Pointy_Ears Story

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Feb 17 - 4PM
two_pointy_ears
two_pointy_ears's picture

Two_Pointy_Ears Story

I went through my childhood and teen years with my nose planted firmly in a book and studiously ignored the rest of the world going on around me. I barely dared talk to the rest of my classmates. It is only now, after therapy and a lot of soul-searching, that I realize why I was so self-conscious that I blocked out all of the things a normal teenager would be experiencing. Low self-esteem and a toxic household. The thought never crossed my mind. I was a good student - Valedictorian of my class! :) I thought my life, while there were some problems, was fine and relatively normal. I thought I was fine.

It was only going through therapy, when the therapist said I'd grown up in a 'toxic household' that I really began to see my childhood through a more mature lens. To see things through an outsider's perspective. You see, back when I was around five years old, my mother re-married and I and my little brother got a new stepfather. I trusted him - even called him dad through most of my childhood. But he shattered that childhood innocence and trust. When I was six, he began to sexually abuse me. For awhile no one knew about it. Then, after a few months of it going on, I finally stood up for myself (though at six I felt like I was the worst daughter in the whole world for 'telling') and went to my mom. I was sure she would leave. I knew it would finally stop and, for me, making it stop seemed like the best thing in the whole wide world.