Finnegan's Story

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 May 6 - 4PM
FinnegansWake
FinnegansWake's picture

Finnegan's Story

My story began roughly 20 years ago, and I am only just now processing what happened, how damaging and painful it was. So much of it was so humiliating and hurtful that I just stuffed it, never told anyone, just pushed it down, but it was always still there, festering.

I have nightmares about it, what he did, what he still does, I suffer from anxiety and go on and off of antidepressants when he hoovers (yes, even after all these years). He is the father of my son. He still comes around looking for supply, even though I am now married to someone else. I know I have to get this poison out to even begin to heal. I know this to the depths of my soul.

When I met T, I was a student at a local university. He was given my number by my classmate who was one of his co-workers. I had been looking for an internship. He called (on a Sunday afternoon – odd for business, I thought) and we set up an interview for the following Thursday at noon. He was tall, tan and bite-your-bottom lip beautiful. All during the interview he kept talking about personal things and kept telling me how good looking I was. I thought it was really inappropriate for a job interview, but he was so damn hot, that I just smiled. It turns out there was no internship available; it was actually a ruse to meet me – the first lie and red flag that I ignored. We began dating.

He told me he went to the University, which, you guessed it, was not true. He hadn’t even gone to college -- he hadn’t even graduated from high school! I found out much later that he was working under another’s license. When I confronted him about it several months into our relationship he made up some nonsense about needing to get reciprocity from the state we were living in before he could get his license here. Yeah, right.