Adina's story- teacher student gone horribly awry

1 post / 0 new
#1 Sep 27 - 2PM
Adina
Adina's picture

Adina's story- teacher student gone horribly awry

My probably-a-narcissist was my cello teacher when I studied at conservatory. I was never involved with him sexually or romantically, but the emotional/financial/career toll on my life has been absolutely horrific- I really felt like I was in a relationship without my consent while in lessons, and two years later I still have symptoms of ptsd, and am struggling to rebuild all aspects of my life.
At the beginning he seemed like the PERFECT teacher- he was funny, energetic, very expressive, eager to please, seemed extremely interested in my progress and my life. He was young, and I found him easy to talk to- his tastes in music and art seemed to mirror mine uncannily- we seemed to have an instant rapport. I loved his playing and found myself making amazing progress.
There were some strange things which showed up right away too, which in the happiness of my momentum, I didn't give much consideration to- the fact that he offered to give lessons in a hotel room... (um, thanks, but I'll wait til you get back to my city) the fact that he crashed at another female student's home claiming he missed his train and had nowhere to stay, and perhaps scariest- that he had looked up a great deal of information about me and my family PRIOR to my first lesson with him- (wtf?).
He asked early on if I wanted to do a competition, and I said yes, excitedly. He had participated in the same competition and won 2nd place in an earlier year. He showed me a picture of the third place winner on his iPhone narrating "this one is a nice guy", then the first place winner, narrating "and this one is an asshole!"- which at the time seemed like a joke.