HappilyNeverAfter33's Story

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Jul 3 - 8PM
HappilyNeverAfter33
HappilyNeverAfter33's picture

HappilyNeverAfter33's Story

My story....told with a heart shattered by a love that never was...

I want to thank everyone for the support and strength they've given to me; a complete stranger yet a reflection of my life with a narcissist husband. This is my first time posting on this forum, and I do so while my NH packs up his belongings downstairs to move out. I want to share my story here as my friends and family have been by my side for the past 9 years, listening and comforting me but with a tone of frustration and perplexity on how I continue to shed tears over this man. After reading The Path Forward, the initial shock became the realization of how this Narc lured me in and brainwashed me into the weak and fearful girl I am today. It was never bliss in the beginning, although his charm and looks drew me in. As I recall 9 years ago, our first few dates were dutch as he refused to be labeled a 'chump' by paying for anything. He was quick to profess his love for me and quick to give me an ultimatum to move across the country with him so he could go to school in another state. I was on cloud 9 (or so the Narc made me believe) that in the beginning he wanted me, he loved me enough to want me by his side after dating a couple months. Our fights were bad in the beginning, but I was young and 'in love'. He relied on me to pay the bills and support us so he could go to school, and I quickly found out trust was out the window before I said the words 'I do.' Nothing I had done to deserve the suspicion, his jealousy of friends and his blatant loathing of my mother but no reason other than my close relationship with her. She can't be any good for me, as she went thru her 3rd divorce the Narc said she has no morals she's a whore. I know this story could end up a novel if I were to go thru the years of emotional and verbal abuse that I allowed myself to e