petitoiseau's story

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Jun 22 - 5PM
petitoiseau
petitoiseau's picture

petitoiseau's story

New here

My narc broke up with me almost a month ago now, and I have found this site to be tremendously helpful.

We met when I was at a really stressful job which took up my entire life. I was looking for an escape and he was perfect; a single, older man with a beautiful old house who told me, after two weeks, that he was looking for a life partner to share his adventures with (on his online dating profile he had also stated that he was looking for someone who would "take a bullet for him", which definitely gave me pause later on...). We dated for about a month, until I began to have doubts and asked for a few weeks off, but missed him and came back.

His "adventures" involved lots of drinking, which was okay with me at first since I was drinking a lot too (I worked in the wine and spirits industry and the stress definitely had me partying a little too much, since alcohol was *always* around). One night we went out and I was matching him drink for drink (he was buying, but no one held a gun to my head to get drunk, I know) and we went to see a band. We were dancing and he kept flirting with another woman, and I, in my drunken state, got mad. I decided to leave and was going to call a taxi, but he flew into a rage, dragged me by the arm out into the street and pushed me into his car. He was driving about 90, drunk, through city streets, and I was scared to death. When he stopped at a stop sign, I jumped out of the car. We got into a physical altercation, and once I got home, I called my best friend and the cops. I felt like an idiot, swore to never date online again, and thought it was over, and it was a good thing. Dodged a bullet, for sure.