Narcs in academia

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
#1 Jun 27 - 1PM
Anne_
Anne_'s picture

Narcs in academia

I hate xN! Just wanted to vent this.
xN and I are collegues. He is a tenured professor, and I am a policy officer at the same faculty. He ditched me bc he wanted to f$ck a 19-year old student. I played it cool at work. Most people don't even know that we were together, let alone that I told them why he broke up with me. But now, he is convinced that I am telling everyone about him sleeping around with his students. He threatens me. My office is in a library, which is closed in summer (= now). I have a badge to enter, and as a staff member, he has a badge too. He comes to my office, threatens me, threatens to get me fired (which is possible, since I am on a temporary contract.....). He is brilliant in his field, gets a lot of grants, publishes a lot so he is untouchable because of that (I'm a policy officer so it is my job to do everything I can to keep these brilliant academics IN the faculty, they bring in the money). He is a union representative for our university (which he mentioned today "Anne, you aren't even protected by the union"). And you know what: an hour later he came back to my office, crying "I don't want you to hate me.....".
He ditched me bc of this 19-year old, he got me infected with an STD, he threatened to get me fired , and he wants me NOT to hate him? Mindblowing.....

Fuck him
I'm taking the day off tomorrow....
I might look for other work....
After all, academia isn't the nicest field to work in....

Jun 28 - 2AM
Anne_
Anne_'s picture

LMAO!!!